Uncharted Territory

I did something this evening that I probably shouldn’t have. I looked at the pop charts. It might as well have been in a foreign language for all it meant to me. These are three of the acts currently in the top ten: Nicki Minaj, Rizzle Kicks, Loick Essien. Anyone? It made me wonder whether chart positions are now being based on Scrabble scores rather than record sales.

Perhaps these are good songs. I don’t really have the urge to go onto iTunes, or whatever it is the kids use these days, to find out. I’ve heard of the current number one Cher Lloyd, because I had the misfortune to catch a bit of last year’s X-Factor. Her song (which I haven’t heard) has gone straight in at number one. I assume that’s not as a big a deal as it was when The Jam went straight in at number one with “Going Underground”.

This combination used to capture the best of the charts for me

The sad thing is that thirty or so years ago I would have known everything in the charts. In those days the new chart was released at Tuesday lunchtime, and I would write it all down so that when the Top 40 was broadcast on Sunday afternoon I would know when to press Record on my little tape recorder. Amazingly I still have the radio and the cassette recorder I used back then, and I even still have some of the tapes. I guess that illegal downloading has replaced that activity nowadays, but I wonder if anyone follows the charts as religiously as I used to?

I think I grew out of following the charts so closely in the mid-80s, not least due to the fact that most of my favourite bands rarely troubled the charts anyway. However, I would still have watched Top Of The Pops for many years, and still had a general idea of what was going on. A shelf full of “Britpop”-era CD singles shows that I had a revival of interest in chart music in the mid-90s. These days I rarely listen to the radio, and I haven’t read the NME for years, so I’m generally clueless as to the state of both mainstream and alternative tastes.

However, this shouldn’t be read as a “things aren’t what they used to be” diatribe by a grumpy old man. I do have an active interest in current music. I’ve been to 14 gigs so far this year, and only three of them have involved acts that date back to the 80s.

A debut album released this year – “And So The Morning Comes” by Evi Vine – is as good as anything I have heard in the last 30 years. A truly stunning and beautiful album. A band called Strangers are producing a series of perfect pop songs that are catchy, memorable and deceptively dark. I’m eagerly awaiting an album of compelling, hypnotic sounds from Hook and the Twin. Whilst following these bands around London’s live circuit I’ve come across other delights on the bill, including The Title Sequence, and a new band from East London called Paradise. Just a couple of weeks ago I watched the first ever gig of a new band from Southend called Lanterns.

I’ve no idea whether any of these bands will make the Top 40, or even how near they are to any kind of national recognition or radio play. All I know is that there is good new music out there to be heard, and with the wonders of social networking, these days there are more ways than ever to discover it. All in all, I’m quite happy for the charts to remain an irrelevance to me!

Posted on August 7, 2011, in Consumerism, Music, Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Another great blog Alan, your writing style is getting better with each one šŸ™‚

  2. Great post, Alan. It just shows how we develop our own music tastes as we get (a little!) older and rely less on what’s popular and fashionable. I spent about five years being interested in the charts (around the same time I was desperate to be Debbie Harry) but I soon went back to the kind of music I really loved. I’m more of an Ink Spots girl at heart šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

